Evening Standard Letter: Give us the final say on Brexit deal

Lewisham Liberal Democrat's Prospective Parliamentary Candidates signed on to a letter, that was printed in the London Evening Standard today, which calls on the Government to give a final say to the  British people once Brexit negotiations are completed. 

You can read the full letter below:

It is regrettable that when it most counted, Conservative and Labour members of the House of Commons and the Lords did not seriously seek to stop a damaging Brexit.

The Opposition strategy, to trigger Article 50 even without its own amendments in place, was farcical. Neither the Labour Party nor the Tories cared to enshrine the rights of EU citizens living in the UK and those of British people living elsewhere in the EU.

Meanwhile, Article 50 puts the UK at the mercy of a ticking time bomb. If a new agreement has not been reached by the end of the two-year period, the country will fall off a cliff into World Trade Organisation rules. This disastrous scenario could increase costs for exporters by £6 billion and halve the long-term prospects for the UK’s economic growth. Even if an alternative deal is agreed, nothing will be better than the full membership we currently enjoy.

We therefore call upon the Government to give a final say to the British people once Brexit negotiations are completed. It is only right that this process should both begin and end with democracy.

Caroline Pidgeon, leader of the Liberal Democrat London Assembly Group
Tom Brake, Liberal Democrat Foreign Affairs Spokesperson& MP for Carshalton and Wallington
Sarah Olney, MP for Richmond Park
​Annabel Mullin (Kensington)
Louise Rowntree (Chelsea and Fulham)
Joyce Onstad (Hammersmith)
Stephen Crosher (Holborn and St Pancras)
Ryan Mercer (Putney)
​Ukonu Obasi (Walthamstow)
Julie Ireland (Beckenham)
Dawn Barnes (Hornsey & Wood Green)
​Amna Ahmad (Sutton & Cheam)
Gail Kent (Dulwich and West Norwood)
Joshua Dixon (Harrow East)
Keith Angus (Islington North)
Dave Raval (Hackney South and Shoreditch)
Emily Frith (Lewisham)
Alexander Harding (Westminster North)
Bridget Fox (Cities of Westminster and London)
Elaine Bagshaw (Poplar and Limehouse)
Ian Stotesbury (Watford)
Claire Mathys (Mitcham & Morden)
John Pindar (Croydon North)
Bobby Dean (Lewisham Deptford)
Sam Webber (Orpington)
Will Dyer (Bethnal Green and Bow)
Richard Davis (Battersea)
Jonathan Fryer (Dagenham & Rainham)
Jon Ball (Ealing Central & Acton)
Carl Quilliam (Wimbledon)
Roger Crouch (Feltham & Heston)
Bill Newton Dunn (Hayes and Harlington)
Michael Bukola (Camberwell and Peckham)
Terry Stacy MBE (Islington South & Finsbury)
Alex Feakes (Bromley and Chislehurst)
Ben Sims (Leyton & Wanstead)
Humaira Sanders (Ealing North)
Marianne Magnin (Member of Executive Committee of Westminster and City of London Liberal Democrats)


Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.